3 Things The First 6 Months of Fatherhood Taught Me.

So what did the first six months teach me about fatherhood?

That it’s a whirlwind of spit up, diapers, cups of coffee, tears, frustration, joy and so much more.

13769561_10207930679439455_4424926346625900649_n.jpg

Waiting For Coffee…(Six months old)

You bring this bundle of blankets home driving five miles an hour because it’s like you’re driving a car for the first time and then you blink your eyes and you are posting the one month photo to Instagram detailing all the things your boy has accomplished in his first month.  On your way to get your third cup of Saturday morning coffee he just sits up by himself and BOOM it’s already the fifth month.  And when you are writing this blog post the bundle of blankets that was is now chasing down Lupin, our dog, at an astonishing speed.

 

The first six months taught me what my mom had always told me to be true:

1: “Life moves so fast.”

Even though I was there everyday of Killian’s first six months I can not comprehend how six months has already passed.  It’s mind blowing.  You don’t realize your child has really changed until a photo pops up from two months ago and you see the stark contrast in your kids brows and nose.  It’s incredible. It’s beautiful. And it is heart breaking, but all in a good way.  I’m certain this doesn’t change, and that life is only going to move faster. But I can hope it doesn’t…Right?

2: “You really are just learning to make it up as you go.”

I have said it before, but I don’t think any first time father, or really any father, has it all planned out.  Maybe Korina does, she’s incredible the way she can keep everything together.  But as for me, I am just going off pure dad instinct, something I’m still learning how to use.  I’m learning Killian the baby, I’m learning Korina the new mom, and I’m most definitely learning this new version of Dillon the dad.

12764661_10153877764666287_7060753769543459467_o

Just about two months old here.

I am personally just trying to be The Okayest Dad, and some days I am amazing and other days, usually when I have not had my 700 cups of coffee, I fall short.  But I try again the next day. That is the important part. Whatever you do just keep going and keep trying, when I say “You’ve Got This!” I mean it!  I try and tell myself that all the time. To remind myself that we are all just making it up.

 

3: “It’s difficult and that’s normal.”

In line with learning how to be a dad, and a new you, keep in mind it’s difficult, and that is normal.  We are human and raising little humans is tough work.  Korina literally just texted me “Your son woke up at 6:45am screaming and then again at 8am screaming”

13700197_10207931768306676_7878066470932644089_n.jpg

She’s gorgeous and she can keep it all together…I’m too lucky.

I hate that I can’t be there to pick him up and help out. I think the world of Korina for being able to tackle his bad days by herself.  The only thing I can think to text back is that “I’m sorry, You’re a great mom and I know it’s shitty and tough” Then I go on to tell her that when she gets him up for school in the future she can blow an air horn at 5am and tell him she’s getting him back. To me, that is only fair.  Korina laughed and I hope for a moment it made things a little easier.  Gave her a little aside and reminded her that this will pass, he will stop crying and he will happily go back to trying to get Lupin.

I guess you could say it’s apparent that parent-hood is beautifully difficult. What would you say was the biggest thing you learned from the first six months of raising your kid?

Remember,

You’ve Got This!

-Dillon

2 comments

  1. Quintessential Editor · · Reply

    Great post – hit me right in the ol feels. I’m there with you. Especially the making it up as you go part (and the IV drip of coffee). The best we can do is just take it a day at a time and marvel at how fast they grow. Seeing my son grow really has put time in perspective for me. Learning something new every day. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. True, I’ve never had the drive to do more in my life but at the same time I’ve never been so exhausted (Pours more coffee)!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

