The Power Of Thank You.

“We have to pack the diaper bag.” Korina says coming down the stairs. Killian in her arms.

“Already packed and by the door!” I call out from the kitchen filling our water bottles and coffee cups for the drive. I hear a small sigh of relief from the living room.

“Thank you, you’re awesome.”

“No thanks needed just helping out!” I say with a little smile on my face.

I say no thanks needed, but in all actuality, it feels so good to hear my wife say thank you. I try so hard to do things for her and she does the same for me too.  I try to tell her thank you for doing even the little things for me (like slaying the dragons in the back yard). She doesn’t have to slay Tiamat,tiamat but she does anyway because she’s amazing and super thoughtful. What I do doesn’t warrant a thank you. Taking out the garbage, doing dishes, laundry, the occasional late night feeding, are all apart of the adult gig.  I’m a husband and a father and my job is to get stuff done.  Honestly, most of the time I can be lazy and tired and not accomplish a thing.  But some days I do what I need to.  These are all things I am supposed to do, that don’t need a thank you. But just hearing a “Thank you! You’re awesome!” for picking up the fallen hangers in the closet or casting a shield spell over our apartment to ward off the neighbor in Apartment C’s smoking habit from seeping through the drywall,  not only feels great but makes me feel loved and appreciated. kiss1 Korina didn’t have to say thank you but she did. And that’s part of what I love about our relationship. We thank each other for the small things we do for each other.

When was the last time you said thank you to your partner? Even if it’s something they have done a thousand times, had your coffee for you ready to go, packed the diaper bag so you can just get out of the house, took the trash out even though it was raining?! Say thank you and mean it.

Also, THANK YOU for reading this blog post and the other blog posts. It means a lot to me!

Have an amazing day!

You’ve Got This!

-Dillon

 

8 comments

  1. EVIL!! Do NOT slay the dragon sir, you TAME the dragon!! What else will you ride to and from work?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good point! The next time a dragon rears its majestic head we’ll have a go at taming it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Outstanding!! Start crafting your saddle now…. so you’re ready!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I just got done casting a shield spell for the same reason (smokers). Luckily, they are new to the building and with nubes, it’s easier to cast an enchantment spell whereby they magically start smoking on the other balcony. FTW! Also: gratitude is HUGE in our house. Big ups. Keep those thanks coming.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I hope they stay on the other balcony! Thanks for taking the time to read and comment =)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome post 😀 I know “thank you” and “I love you” are probably two of the most used phrases in my household. Right after, “don’t let Thor put that in his mouth.” Love the photo of you two! Did you commandeer the hot air balloon in the background? #lifegoals

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Thank you” and “I love you” are used all over our house. You can also frequently hear “Why is Killian so strange?” “he must get it from you.” (Said in unison) Man, I wish we had commandeered a balloon, that would have been an adventure. But it was $700.00 for two people to take a ride……….#howaboutno

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Maybe if you could BUY it for $700.00…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

