YOUR OCTOBER BREAK THE MOLD LIST!

Last week I wrote a blog called BREAK THE MOLD! And in it I talked about jumping out of the rut that we can all find ourselves in.  In the comments JR Handley Blog and I started talking and that has sparked this new post idea!

A to do list. A Break the Mold list if you will!

Korina and I are always coming up with lists, well if I am honest Korina is the one who comes up with the lists, she is the super organized one.  But I do offer suggestions, which is exactly what I am going to do here!  At the start of each month I am going to give my fellow fathers a to do list for that said month!  Different ideas that can get the juices flowing to get you out and break the mold!

OCTOBER!  

This is our favorite month in the year. It also has our wedding anniversary!  It will be 6 years this Oct 23rd! Fall literally hits Tennessee overnight.  We will go from 95 degrees one day hot and sweaty wearing tank tops and shorts. Then we will have a huge storm in the middle of the night, and then boom. 68 Degrees, bring on the hoodies and jeans! Maybe it’s the stories I like to read and write but there’s a crispness in the air during the fall that carries with it a sense of bold adventure.  Maybe it’s the hair standing up on my arms or the leaves scraping the pavement, but it feels kind of magic. What do you think?

BREAK THE MOLD LIST!

Pumpkin Patch!

This one is easy. Go buy some pumpkins with your pumpkins and carve them while watching age appropriate scary movies. 10733754_10153608275621287_2644824965960365401_o For example, SAW 3 with your three year old, SAW 6 with your six year old, etc.*

Corn mazes!

Few things can make me feel like a kid short of Disney World, but corn mazes have always been a love of mine!  Any maze really.  Take your kids, take your significant other and get lost.  But maybe not too lost.

Oktoberfest!

As a German man myself, I love Oktoberfest! Not German? NO PROBLEM! Go, drink beer, dance the polka and the funky chicken, 577397_4027279594971_587093808_neat schnitzel, be merry!  It’s really that simple! “Oi Oi Oi!”

Leaf watching (if you live in a place where the leaves change color)

Find a new park forty minutes away at the least, pack a lunch, and hit the road.  Explore, breath in that crisp air I keep talking about and enjoy the sky and leaves.

Google “Local fall festival”

Sorry, I don’t know where all of you live, so Google is gonna have to do some leg work.  Make sure google knows your location then Google local fall festival.  Lots of them are free, there is usually good food, music and fun.  If it’s not any of those things, you have explored somewhere new and have a good story to tell.

Haunted houses.

I can’t tell you how much I love haunted houses.  I love them to……….death.  Hehe.  They are fun and can bring the horror movies to life! So if you haven’t been to one before, go!

Here is the vlog where I took on Halloween Horror Nights, one of the best haunted attractions in America, by myself!


Look up local haunted places and go visit them!

Here in Tennessee we have a lot of haunted bridges, spooky caverns, and of course the Bell Witch.  Find your local haunt HERE and have a spooky adventure!

Make Caramel Apples or Butter Beer!

Everyone getting together and making Caramel apples just shouts fall to me.  That and Butter beer, the glorious nectar of the gods first brought to us from the Wizarding World of Harry Potter!

We even made a video on how to make it!  Enjoy!


Sign up for Groupon.

Groupon sends me emails all the time with different events and discounts on places to go and it provides you a good starting spot for some fun!

Thank you guys so much for reading this post! If you liked it or saw some good ideas, please share it to Facebook or with a friend!

Remember,

You’ve Got This!

-Dillon

*Please don’t do that….

2 comments

  1. Very fun blog. Great, simple ideas to mix it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

