No Thanks Dad, I can Feed Myself!

Over this weekend two things happened.  Korina and I had our six year wedding anniversary and Killian started feeding himself his bottle.

Korina and I got married at the ripe old age of 20 and have been falling in love with each other more and more ever since.  It has been a crazy ride with ups and downs and some really amazing surprises.  Killian came at the perfect time and he constantly leaves us in awe of how lucky we are to have him.  That being said, it’s insane how quickly time has flown by.  Watching him grow has been one of my favorite things about fatherhood and I don’t think I will ever be tired of watching him learn and figure things out for himself.  I will say that as proud as I was of him for learning to drink his bottle by himself I felt the smallest twang of sadness about it.  mom-and-sonHere is this kid that needs us to change his diapers, strap him into a car seat and to put on his shoes.  But somehow, at nine months old, he pushed my hands away and held his bottle by himself.  He didn’t need me and that was a very strange feeling.  It’s now become this crazy paradox of watching myself grow up while watching someone else grow up whom I am coincidentally in charge of their growing up. (If that made any sense)

I really haven’t had to deal with him doing things for himself yet, sure he feeds himself snacks and small pieces of food in his high chair and that didn’t bother me, but for some reason him feeding himself his bottle really struck me.  It might be because bedtime is our thing.  I hold him and feed him his cereal and hold his bottle and look at him and enjoy being close to him.  I still get to feed him his food and hold him close to me, he just feeds himself his bottle now.

Long story short, my kid is growing up a little bit and I wasn’t ready for it, nor am I ready for any of it.  Especially since he is getting balancing standing up by himself down.  He’s going to be walking before I know it. I am so proud of this little monster boy of ours.

How did you guys feel about watching your child gain a little independence?

Remember,

You’ve Got This!

-Dillon

3 comments

  1. So true, it’s mind-boggling how fast it all happens. For me though, the moment my son started showcasing his independence and personality my love for him started to grow tenfold. Something about seen bits and pieces of my wife’s personality and my own in a 28-inch human is both awesome and humbling

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s even harder when they don’t need to cuddle much anymore… I feel proud though, it’s wonderful to see them grow and mature!

    Meno<3

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t want to think about it! Killian has only been growing for ten months now and just to be able to sit and see him age in this small time frame has been a marvel to see.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

